Legal matters

Such a grand legislative building. Speaking of legal matters, my case with the Ministry of Labour is coming to the days of getting a conclusion. It’s been almost a year long battle getting compensation from the last company I worked for. I hate them with a passion for overworking me and treating me like trash and telling me I’m not qualified. DSC04405I’ve demanded $2500 for a settlement (really not that much for a franchise to pay me out) but they refused. Doesn’t matter to me since I’m not after money, I’m chasing after justice. DSC04403

Last year in September to November I really had no life. I worked from 8:00am to 7:30pm when I went home and ate dinner after dinner I would be on my laptop finishing up work until 10pm when I had to sleep again (Mind you this was all for some measly salary income…I wasn’t paid hourly…so that’s how they abused the work hours out of me). I’m so glad I’m not in that situation anymore.

2 thoughts on “Legal matters

  1. Let’s see- I remember the job where they had you guys working in a blizzard going to door to door sales- it can’t be that one since I recall you quickly and thankfully dropped that crazy job. =) Which one was this?

    Good for you for sticking up for your rights. I feel the same way – it’s the principle of the matter that counts – that they think they can make you do all that work and them not pay you properly is nuts!

  2. You have a good memory 😀 This one related to those dirty restaurant pictures I posted last fall. I was working privately for a buffet franchise corporation. Didn’t last more than 3 months…I walked into work arguing everyday.

    Manager couldn’t even provide feedback/ performance review when he “let me go” so when I decided pursue filing against the the company he was like “this girl is overboard..doesn’t she need a work reference from me?”… ridiculous… why would i ask for a reference from someone who fired me and couldn’t even provide me with the performance review i requested before I left. For them to actually think that I should’t or wouldn’t file against them because I “NEED” them for a work reference….hahaha.

Leave a comment