My Experience with Scamming people with Ontario Consumers Home Services

Two days ago I got an interview with a company that said they were looking to fill a customer representative position. So I went for my first interview which was literally like maybe 5 mins long and passed on to the second interview. I was then told the second “interview” was from 10:30am to 7:00pm and that I would get to do some shadowing with their manager to get to know the product better.

10:30-11:30am – I sat in a room with three other candidates and learned the companies background and we all introduced ourselves to them and told them what skills we can bring into the company and how we can deliver customer service.Then everyone got introduced to shadow different “managers”

11:30am-1:30pm- My “manager” took me outside and told me to get into a van, there were three other people in the van that were around the ages of 19. He started the van and we went off (note we were in the core of down town Toronto), during this time I thought I was a good time to better introduce myself and get to know this “manager”. After a 10mins in the van I was told we were going to Brampton ( a town 45min outside of Toronto) I was confused as to why we were going so far from the head office.

1:30pm-2.00pm-We arrived  I went with this crew to get lunch…I went with it eve though I had brought lunch.

2:00pm- got back into the van and the “manager” started to drop ppl off in different neighborhoods. We eventually arrive and stop in a suburban neighborhood.

3.00pm – he asked me if i was ready to see this job…i said yes…we got out of the car and HE TOOK ME KNOCKING FROM DOOR TO DOOR FOR 5HRS IN A FUCKING SNOW STORM! – I signed up for customer service rep NOT SALES REP

The WORST part of it is that this guy goes around the neighborhood doing the following at houses:

– May I speak to the home owner? – if yes- he goes on…I am here to check on your hot water heater rental unit due to a recent accident of CO leak in your subdivision(COMPLETE LIE), this is part of the rental services we provide  – would you like my shoes off outside or inside?- barges into the house goes into the basement …pretends to look at the equipment and tells home owner they either:

1.) have a municipal code  infraction with their installation(LIE)

2.) their system equipment is old and it can blow up their basement(LIE)

3.) Their system is currently leaking CO that can kill their family – and no a CO detector is no needed to prove the leak as  it will only detect high levels CO which would have already killed you.

4.) You need to change your equipment immediately and we can qualify you for a government rebate (LIE)

____________________________________________________________________

How much does this ASSHOLE  makes if home owner signs this contract for new equipment? $600!

It disgusts me that these sales people live in downtown luxury condos and drives Mercedes through scamming people

_____________________________________________________________________

What happened to me you ask?

I have a smart mouth and a brain and I was hired and given a congratulatory letter of joining their team and I accepted their offer. HOWEVER, I never showed up on my first day of work

.I DON’T MAKE DIRTY MONEY . Lied to me about the job position and I’ll lie about accepting the job offer. Fair.

Whether it’s my community or someone else’s, I care, protect and am a person of integrity.

One thought on “My Experience with Scamming people with Ontario Consumers Home Services

  1. Ah, the old “bait and switch” job offer…

    Definitely a shady way to do things. A similar thing happened to me many moons ago when I was looking for a summer job in NY. The offer was for office clerical work- which actually turned out to be a sales position going door to door in all the businesses in Manhattan.
    Your experience was far worse than mine since my job for the short time I worked there was selling jewelry (rings) and we only had to lie about how we come to be at their office before going into standard advertising BS about the rings value and “discounts” available.

    When I went with my “trainer”, he told me “If you see a ‘Do not enter’ sign, that means you go right in.” 🙂 He made some sales, and we got kicked out of a few offices. If amazing how much access you get when you’re dressed up in suit and tie. I worked there about two weeks but found a real job and bailed.

    You on the other hand, were being asked to commit criminal fraud and deception. I can’t believe they would be so open about that type of sleezy activity. They could be arrested/prosecuted for such activity. And making you go door to door in a snowstorm – you sure didn’t go to college for that! =)

    Makes you wonder how people can sleep at night cheating people like this. They love to prey on senior citizens who are more trusting and not as mentally sharp as they were when they were young.

    Good for you for turning that down. It wouldn’t hurt to report their activity to the authorities as well. Eventually karma will catch up to people like that.

Leave a Reply

